The Laws of Dharma: a touchstone during turbulent times

I spent a lot of time in India during the Nineties, studying the Vedas. It was then that I came across the ancient Laws of Dharma. These are otherwise known as natural laws, because they are based on universal principles which govern, alchemically, every single thing that is alive in this universe – and that includes us.

The Laws of Dharma are blind, which is why you often see artworks of a blindfolded goddess of justice. Justice was considered to be blind by the hermeticists of old because they had studied the processes of nature and found that its outcomes are governed not by the changing beliefs or fashions of man, but by the blueprint contained in the seed of the soul inside each one of us which dictates the trajectory of the pilgrimage of our existence here on this Earth. It is the DNA of the soul, and this is why the meaning of the word dharma is destiny.

We are currently going through great trials – as do all heroes in ancient myths – and are feeling an enormous affront to our liberties with our peace of mind and our sense of natural justice being shaken to the core. But I believe that the Laws of Dharma, if we adhere to them, can guide us through.

If they all feel a bit too much, right now, you could try practising just one a day? I doubt anyone gets all of them right all of the time. It’s more about an aspirational spiritual practice to give us a touchstone to hold on to through turbulent and chaotic times, when the fog of the information war is shrouding the best way forwards.

I’ve written an article about what each of these laws means to me in my life based, largely, on what I learned when I was in India, and so this allows us to view each one from a more Eastern perspective. Just click on the name of each law and it will take you the relevant article.

The Ten Laws of Dharma

1. Patience (dhriti)

2. Forgiveness (kshama)

3. Piety or self-control (dama)

4. Honesty (asteya)

5. Sanctity (shauch)

6. Control of the senses (indraiya-nigrah)

7. Reason (dhi)

8. Knowledge (vidya)

9. Truthfulness (satya)

10. Absence of anger (krodha)

If you enjoyed this, or found it useful, please Subscribe to Shaman of Avalon to get an email every time I post a new article.


Read about the ancient Mystery Teachings to find out how they can inform your life today.


Learn about what shamanism is, what shamans do, and how you can receive training.

Sacred Sex

Discover another dimension to your love-making that is healing and spiritually transformative.